British University Handball Championships

University Championships Group picture

The British University Handball Championships has grown year-on-year. The first championships, organised by the universities, took place in 2012, when 24 teams entered. 2015/16 saw the championship grow to 65 teams. 

 England Handball took over organisation of the Championships for the 2016/17 season.

South Qualifiers: Round-up

The British University Championship South Qualifiers saw 35 teams compete at the University of Worcester Arena.

Bath 1, Cambridge and Bournemouth topped the Women’s groups. Bournemouth were particularly impressive, scoring 88 goals and conceding just six.

The men’s competition saw Cranfield, Cambridge, Birmingham 1 and Bangor head the standings in their respective groups.


This year the competition will be split into two regional rounds; 

  •  South: 11/12 February 2017 - Worcester Sports Centre, Worcester
  • North: 18/19 February 2017  - David Ross Sports Centre, Nottingham 

 All teams will progress through to the plate or cup final taking place on;  

  • 18/19 March: Medway Sports Centre, Gillingham


EHA will appoint offical referees to all rounds. If you are interested in refereeing any of these championships please email ehareferees@englandhandball.com.

Rules and Regulations

Please read the Rules and Regulations carefully as some changes have been made, especially in regards to eligability. 

Rules and Regulations University Championships 2017

Any questions please contact alysha.martin@englandhandball.com

Please keep an eye on this page for further information on the registration process, fixtures and results.