25th June 2019

England Handball Awards

Liz Roberts of Poole Phoenix was a double-winner at the England Handball 2019 Awards.

Liz was named the Senior Women’s Coach of the Year, while she also was also awarded the Contribution to Schools Handball – The Mike Briars Award. There was another gong for Poole who won Club-of-the-Year.

The Senior Men’s Coach award went to Stan Belinski of Trafford.

Women’s Premier Handball League Player-of-the-Year was won by Sunniva Ovstebo Naess of West London Eagles. West London Eagles took another award as Zoe Lacour was named Women’s Under-19 Player-of-the-Year.

Men’s Premier Handball League Player-of-the-Year went to Nottingham’s Francisco Pereira for a second year in succession. Nottingham’s Josh Plumridge took the Men’s Under-19 Player-of-the-Year gong.

Oli Sutcliffe of Loughborough University won Young Male Coach-of-the-Year, while Bideford Blacks Elaine Beresford was named Volunteer-of-the-Year.

The Coaching Culture award went to University of Nottingham Handball club.

The contribution made to handball by Paul Bray and Bill Baillie was recognised as they were awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Speaking about her awards Liz Roberts said: “Listening to the introduction for Coach-of-the-Year, I was simply thinking what a lovely piece it was. To hear my name read out was overwhelming. I simply had no idea that I'd even been nominated!

“To receive a further two awards for my work in schools and Club-of-the-Year literally knocked me for six. I love what I do. For it to be appreciated makes it that little bit sweeter!”

Posted in England Handball Awards